Local Government

Local Government

Endowed with a diverse tax base, an excellent professional staff and a pool of capable and committed civic leaders, the Village of Northbrook provides superior services to residents and businesses. The efficiency and effectiveness of the village government is evident throughout the community – from the state of the art enhanced emergency phone system to the well maintained roadways.

Northbrook boasts several unique advantages— easy access to all modes of transportation, the only offshore community with a direct water connection to Lake Michigan, an AAA bond rating from Moody’s and a Class 2 Insurance rating.

The Village of Northbrook has a Council-Manager form of government. The Village President, six-member Board of Trustees and the Village Clerk are elected at large for staggered four year terms. Meetings are open to the public and are cablecast live on NCTV Cable Channel 17.

At the state level, Northbrook is divided among two senatorial districts, 9th and 29th, and four representative’s seats, 57th, 58th, 59th and 17th. Click here for a list of county, state and federal elected officials. Voter registration information may be obtained by calling the Northbrook Village Clerk at (847) 272-5050, ext.221 or the Cook County Board of Elections at (312) 603-0906.

Village President
Kathryn L. Ciesla

Village Clerk
Debra J. Ford

Village Manager
Cara Pavlicek (as of 9/1/2021)

Muriel J. Collison
Joy U. Ebhomielen
Johannah K. Hebl
Robert P. Israel
Dan H. Pepoon
Heather E. Ross

Village of Northbrook
1225 Cedar Lane
Northbrook, IL 60062
Fax: 827-272-9760